On the Move
Dean's Message
Expanding Horizons
Heating Up
Shifting Ground
Storm Chaser
Boundary Issues
On the Move
Newsletter Archive
  • Joining past U.S. presidents and Pulitzer Prize winners, Martin Golubitsky, a University of Houston mathematician, has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Golubitsky, Cullen Distinguished Professor of Mathematics at UH, is among 175 new Fellows and 20 new Foreign Honorary Members. The Academy will welcome the new class at its annual Induction Ceremony Oct. 7 at its headquarters in Cambridge, Mass. This year’s Fellows include former Presidents George H.W. Bush and Bill Clinton, Supreme Court Chief Justice John Roberts, and film director Martin Scorsese.
  • Two recent University of Houston graduates have been pursuing the American dream after leaving their native countries with their parents.  As recipients of a pair of prestigious national fellowships, two graduating seniors – Azim Karim, a double major in biology and history, and Hassan A. Khalil, a biomedical engineering major and mathematics minor – are getting closer to making that dream a reality.  Karim received a Merage Foundation for the American Dream Fellowship, and Khalil received an Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi Fellowship and Award of Excellence.
  • Next-generation memory technology and superconductivity were among cutting-edge research presentations that recently earned top honors for three NSM students at the Texas Center for Superconductivity at the University of Houston (TcSUH) 31st Semiannual Student Symposium.  Stephen Tsui, a doctoral student in physics, received first prize for his research investigating resistive switching at the interfaces between metals and oxide materials.  Dana Gheorghe and Vance Jason Styve, both doctoral students in chemistry, tied for third prize with their presentations related to superconductivity.
  • Pradeep Buddharaju, a doctoral student in the University of Houston Computational Physiology Lab, recently presented research regarding physiological face recognition at the Summer School for Advanced Studies on Biometrics for Secure Authentication, a highly selective venue where graduate students from around the world compete for entry.  He earned the school’s Outstanding Paper Award, and the relevant article will also be published by the Springer Lecture Notes Series in Computer Science, as a token of recognition of its scholastic value.
  • Developing algorithms to locate petroleum targets and create high resolution pictures of the Earth’s subsurface, without any prior knowledge about what lies above the target, has earned one University of Houston scientist high honors from an international organization.  Assistant Professor of Physics Kristopher Innanen will receive the J. Clarence Karcher Award from the Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG) during the SEG International Exposition and Seventy-Sixth Annual Meeting in New Orleans Oct. 1-6, 2006.
  • Donald L. Birx has been named vice chancellor for research for the University of Houston System and vice president for research for the University of Houston.  Birx has most immediately been the interim vice provost/president for research and professor of physics at New Mexico State University (NMSU) in Las Cruces, N.M. since 2004, while simultaneously serving as president and founder of PSI, a new corporate entity at NMSU for technology development and incubation, since 2002.  He joined NMSU in 1996 as director of the Physical Science Laboratory, a 500-person university-based applied R&D organization.
© University of Houston 2006